Uncategorized

NHS food

As you may know, my mother has recently been in hospital for surgery. This is one of my bugbears about nutrition.  As a health coach I get told that I don’t know enough about nutrition because that is the role of dieticians.  Therefore, health coaches in the UK don’t tend to work within the framework of the NHS.  Now I do understand that dieticians do degrees, over years, take continuing professional development courses, understand a huge amount of research and biochemistry and physiology; I am totally respectful of that.  However, there is a huge discrepancy between theory and practice at times.

I was appalled at the food available in the hospital and there seems to  be a huge disconnect between the NHS telling us to eat healthy and actually delivering on health.

Leave a Reply

