recipe · Uncategorized

Simple Spelt Scones

I don’t eat bread from packets and have to be careful with gluten-containing products (I suffer with bad bloating and pain if I do but I don’t think it’s the gluten so much as some of the other additives in the usual gluten processed junk out there). Anyway, yesterday I wanted some scones to go with some  pumpkin soup I had made. This is one of my favourite ‘quick, I need carbohydrates’ to go alongside recipes.

Ingredients

  • 1.5 cups organic spelt flour
  • 1 cup plain bio yoghurt or sour cream
  • 1 cup grated cheese (I used a lovely Cornish cheddar)
  • A pinch of bicarbonate of soda
  • A couple of teaspoons of dried herbs (or a tablespoon of fresh)

Sieve the flour and bicarb into a mixing bowl and mix well together.  Add the herbs and grate the cheese into the mixture too.  Then mix in your yoghurt (I find I like yoghurt best).  I pour the whole mixture into a pyrex dish and then bake for about 20 minutes at 180 deg C (fan oven).  They look rustic but are functional and taste great. 🙂

 

Recipe by Elizabeth Plant.

I am a holistic health and wellness coach who delivers my services via Skype.  I have also released my Winter Wellness Detox (although the ebook program is gluten-free).  Alongside coaching I am also a massage therapist/bodyworker and currently studying a soft tissue manual therapy course at the College of Osteopaths.  I also write a newsletter which you can sign up for here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

